Pastor’s Message – August 10, 2021

Welcome Home, Dr. Foster

The Child Development Center (CDC) Board is delighted to announce the hiring of our new CDC director, Dr. Barbara Ann Foster.

Dr. Foster is a graduate of Mississippi State University with a PhD in Educational Administration. She earned her Masters in K-12 Educational Leadership from Mississippi State University, also, and her Bachelors in K-8 Education from Mississippi University for Women. Dr. Foster has served in the field of education in some capacity her whole career.

She grew up in West Point, attended and worked as a teacher and assistant principal in the West Point School System until she and her husband, Aubrey, were relocated to Louisiana for his job. She was employed by the Louisiana Department of Education as a consultant for Federal Programs for over 17 years. Dr. Foster has a passion for working with students and wants to see they receive the best education possible. She seeks to provide a good foundation for today’s children so they will be ready for school.

Dr. Foster, whose friends call her “Barbara Ann,” likes to read, crochet, and piddle around in her flower beds. She possesses many skills, known to her former coworkers as the “tech guru” always willing to help coworkers figure out how to operate documents, forms, files, spreadsheets, and such. She also created the Risk Assessment Rating Form used by her Division to determine school systems for yearly monitoring. She is the daughter of Liv Brand and the late Charles Brand. She and Aubrey have two daughters Marlana Bowen of Zachary, Louisiana, and Calleen Gable of West Point, Mississippi (both former employees at the Child Development Center) and six grandchildren. Dr. Foster is looking forward to returning home to serve as the Director of the First United Methodist Church Child Development Center.

Stay tuned for more information about meeting & greeting Dr. Foster, and please be in prayer for the CDC in this time of transition. We offer a huge thanks to our CDC Board for their faithful service. Members are:

George Purnell, Chair                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Pam Carson                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Anna Thompson                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Ralph Weems
Dee Echols                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Anna Dill
Sara Frances Stubbs                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Dr. Darian Duckworth, Pastor
Julie Gray, Financial Secretary

Posted in Uncategorized.